Board of Directors

THA-Venture Capital Equity Fund Co. Ltd. was established to transform the Tobago economy through diversification, job growth and creation, and to ignite Tobago entrepreneurs’ spirit. The Company is run by a Board of Directors. Members of the Board of Directors are appointed by the Shareholder and are selected from thriving entities within Trinidad and Tobago’s private and public sector. The Directors provide overall guidance, governance, and management of the Company’s affairs and mandate as declared by the Secretary for the THA Division of Finance and the Economy. The Board of Directors manages the overall direction of the Company and creates sub-committees to help achieve the Company’s strategic goals.

The members of the Board of Directors for the current term of appointment are:

  • Dr. Winford James – Chairman
  • Mary-Ann Brathwaite-Leonce  –  Deputy Chairman
  • Lesley Gray – Director
  • Simone Hall – Director
  • Carlos Hazel – Director
  • Barry Joefield – Director
  • Denese Toby-Quashie – Director

Dr. Winford James

Dr. Winford James is a linguist and career educational professional having taught at the secondary and tertiary levels for over forty years combined. Dr. James holds a PhD. in Linguistics, Diploma in Education (with Distinction), and a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish, French, and Linguistics all from the University of the West Indies (UWI). (more...)

Mrs. Mary-Ann Brathwaite–Leonce

Deputy Chairman
Mary-Ann Brathwaite-Leonce is a highly skilled professional with more than fifteen years of experience in management consultancy. She is Director of the Management Services Unit (MSU) in the Office of the Chief Secretary, Tobago House of Assembly (THA). (more ...)

Ms. Lesley Gray

Lesley Gray has eighteen (18) years progressive experience as an attorney at law in both the public and private sectors. Ms. Gray obtained her Bachelor of Laws from the University of the West Indies. She then completed the Legal Education Certificate at the Hugh Wooding (more ...)

Mrs. Simone T. Hall

Simone Hall is a financial consultant at HALWILL Financial Solutions Ltd. Mrs. Hall attained her Master’s in Business Administration from Anglia Ruskin University in the United Kingdom in 2014. (more...)

Mr. carlos o. hazel

Carlos Hazel is the Technical Advisor at the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Division of Finance, Trade and the Economy. Mr. Hazel is an economist with over twenty (20) years post-qualification experience (more ...)

Mr. Barry Joefield

Barry Joefield is Leader of the Lion King S.B. Group and former Director of Planning, Research & Project Implementation in the Ministry of Tobago Development. He has extensive history in (more ...)


Denese Toby-Quashie is a trained Management Accountant and has held the position of Administrator in the Tobago House of Assembly since 2017 having served as (more...)